top of page
This Green and Pleasant Land

This Green and Pleasant Land

SKU: 9781785764509
£9.99Price

Author: Ayisha Malik


Description:


The standout new novel by acclaimed author Ayisha Malik - perfect for fans of The Casual Vacancy, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Middle England. Everyone has a place they call home. But who gets to decide where you belong? For years Bilal Hasham and his wife Mariam have lived contented, quiet lives in the sleepy rural village of Babbel's End. Now all that is about to change. On her deathbed, Bilal's mother reaches for his hand. Instead of whispering her final prayers, she gives him a task: build a mosque in his country village. Mariam is horrified by Bilal's plan. His friends and neighbours are unnerved. As outrage sweeps Babbel's End, battle lines are drawn. His mother's dying wish reveals deeper divisions in their village than Bilal had ever imagined. Soon Bilal is forced to choose between community and identity, between faith and friendship, between honouring his beloved mother's last wish and preserving what is held dear in the place that he calls home.

  • Return and Refund Policy

    If product is returned to us within 21 days in pristine condition, we are able to do a full refund (excluding shipping). Please contact books@commonpress.com with order number and reason for refund.
  • Shipping Policy

    We are able to fulfil orders within the UK only. Shipping rates are based on total order weight and will be calculated at checkout.
bottom of page