top of page
Black Shack Alley

Black Shack Alley

SKU: 9780143133957
£12.99Price

Author: Joseph Zobel


Description:


The semiautobiographical Caribbean novel that explores shifting race relations in early twentieth-century colonial Martinique, with a foreword by Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau A Penguin Classic Following in the tradition of Richard Wright's Black Boy, Joseph Zobel's semiautobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the coming-of-age of José, a young boy grappling with issues of power and identity in colonial Martinique. As José transitions from childhood to young adulthood and from rural plantations to urban Fort-de-France on a quest for upward mobility, he bears witness to and struggles against the various manifestations of white supremacy, both subtle and overt, that will alter the course of his life. His ally in this struggle is his grandmother, M'man Tine, who fights her own weariness to release at least one child from the plantation village, a dirt street lined with the shacks of sugarcane workers. Zobel's masterpiece, the basis for the award-winning film Sugar Cane Alley directed by Euzhan Palcy, is a powerful testament to twentieth-century life in Martinique, with a foreword by award-winning Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau.

  • Return and Refund Policy

    If product is returned to us within 21 days in pristine condition, we are able to do a full refund (excluding shipping). Please contact books@commonpress.com with order number and reason for refund.
  • Shipping Policy

    We are able to fulfil orders within the UK only. Shipping rates are based on total order weight and will be calculated at checkout.
bottom of page